Fenris Barks

News and Opinion from the Epicenter of the Twin Cities

Gorilla Wire Art in Seattle

with 3 comments

Ok, so I was walking through my neighborhood today when I came across this wire sculpture hanging from a fence post beneath the Fremont bridge (right between the Google and Adobe buildings).  It was clearly a gorilla art installation with a political message.  But the fact that this piece, which had obviously taken it’s creator hours upon hours to create, was left to the mercy of the elements and to the whim of opportunistic art-seekers such as myself, gave me the resolve to act.

The question: whether to leave it or take it?  I took it, thinking that it would be safer under my protection.  Anybody could have come by and ripped it out of its place and destroyed it.  I guess, in the end, by removing it and posting it here I’ve done it justice.  What’s your take…?

Installed on the fence...

final pic hanging from ceiling (my ceiling)

“identity for sale you pay companies to become billboards”

May you live longer here, dear art installation!

Written by fenrisbarks editor

27/02/2010 at 06:12

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I have seen this artist. He lives in Portland and sells in street art shows and markets. He doesn’t have a website, a TV, or anything. I don’t even remember his name.

    Like

    April

    07/10/2011 at 08:59

  2. His name is Spencer LIttle and a little bit of Googling about a Seattle wire artist found the info fairly readily. I saw him at the Fremont Market and his works are AMAZING! I have to say that I probably would have left the art in the place the artist left it…

    Like

    Lorien

    03/06/2012 at 21:38

  3. Laura

    12/05/2013 at 15:20


Leave a Reply

